How to Establish a Routine with YOUR Dog so We Both are Happy

Hi! Grady here to talk Routine with you and how to create one for you and your dog.

Routines are great for dogs so we know what to expect and when to expect it. This allows for our Human Pack members to ensure I’m taken care of and squared away for an expected amount of time. After being consistent for a month or two – I’ll realize what is expected of me and will gladly fall into the routine. I will be more relaxed because I know what to expect.

Exercise is critical to any routine. Even for lazy old dogs. Some need a lot of hard exercise. I’m one!

I work out really hard!
I work out really hard!

A routine is not difficult and should work around when you must leave us – and for how long – we know you have to go.

As a reminder – DON’T MAKE A BIG DEAL OUT OF LEAVING. YOU have to go – not me. YOU are sad – not me…but now WE WILL BE SAD BECAUSE YOU ARE. Now your day (and mine) start off crappy. Just go. Kiss me and Leave. No hub bub – no flubbering around. Kick ROCKS. Hit those SLABS (Cement sections)! GO ALREADY! We frankly could care less (unless we are spoiled and chew up stuff) – and like to sleep the day away.

Here’s my sister, Donna after a hard workout. Her eyes are open and tongue out. Not the best look. Still ‘noteworthy level’ cute!

I sleep with my eyes open and tongue out when I'm REALLY tired.
Donna after a workout!

Gotta be at work at 9:00AM?

  1. 6:30 AM Breakfast! (Humans and Dogs)
  2. 7:00 AM Walk/Exercise
    1. First 15 minutes we will be ready to go outside.
    2. You may have to go out to bathroom first then eat breakfast. Find what works best. A quick 5 minute relief walk is fine.
  3. 8:00 AM Return – Water!
  4. 12:00 PM – someone needs to come home or come over (you, neighbor, dog walker). We need a bathroom break
  5. 5:30 (or sooner) PM Walk for bathroom ASAP!
  6. 6:30 PM DINNER (Humans and Dogs)
  7. 8:00 PM Long Walk – YOU NEED IT!
  8.  8:45 – WATER!
  9. Your dog will do what YOU do. I go to bed when my Dad goes to bed. Our energy is intertwined. As I get older, our connection gets stronger. My sister and I are on the same schedule as our Dad. This is his actual schedule.

Here is Donna doing morning agility exercise before going to playing fetch!  She struts her little tush on the DOG WALK Yea!  I do a little turn on the DOG walk get it?! (My Dad secretly likes 80’s Euro music shhh!)

Generally, by following a similar schedule, there may be several benefits.

  • Ease in separation anxiety
  • Increase in obedience
  • Prevents Bad Behavior
    • Things will happen. Puppies and new rescue dogs tend to be mischievous and will test boundaries.
    • BE PATIENT – NEVER EVER LET US (DOGS) GET OUR WAY
    • We will take advantage and are masters of manipulating HUMAN GUILT.
      • You know this and let us get away with stuff anyway!
  • Strong and healthy
    • NO FATTIES! – There really is no reason for this. We don’t eat Human food. We just don’t. We LOVE it. But it’s not for us. Butter and greasy foods are tasty but not good for us (or YOU).
  • We become better protectors of the HOUSE
  • Increases companionship and bonding
  • YOU will be more relaxed and balanced. That place you go to all day won’t be so bad.
    • We feel your energy as you get healthier also!

What kind of schedule do you keep with your Dog? What benefits do you see?

One thought on “How to Establish a Routine with YOUR Dog so We Both are Happy

Leave a comment